cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
tMinnx
Level II

Col Cumulative Sum without calling the current row's value

Hello, I am quite new to writing JMP scripts and primarily use "Edit Formula" for my work. I have been browsing solutions related to Col Cumulative Sum and could not find one for my specific problem. The simplified version of my data table is as follows.

RowWeekCol Cumulative SumMy Wish

The formula below works if the current row value of "Week" is fixed or if I have two separate columns "Week" and "My Wish."

If( Row() != 1,
	Lag( Col Cumulative Sum( :Week ), 1 ),
)

The issue is that the value of the previous row's "Week" is fixed but the current row's is not. And I only have one column "Week" to work with. I am developing a formula that simulates progression based on the previous simulation value. I am simulating the current row's "Week" value based on the previous row's.

Suppose I am working on Row 4 in the column "Week." I want to cumulatively sum all the previous "Week" values without calling the current "Week" value in the function. Otherwise, it creates an illegal reference or cycling problem in my case.

I tried using subscript instead of lag since the lag function calls the current row's "Week" value. It did not work.

If( Row() != 1,
	Col Cumulative Sum( :Week )[Row() - 1],
)

I hope my explanation was clear enough. Thank you for your time and expertise in advance. I use JMP Pro 17.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: Col Cumulative Sum without calling the current row's value

Is "Sim Cases" a matrix or a column in a data table?

I do not understand 

You appear to be making your solution overly complex.

sim cases = [3,5,2,8];

sum1 = sum(sim cases);
sum2 = sum(([1 1 1 1]*sim cases)[1]);
show(sum1,sum2);

Both sum1 and sum2 provide the same value

sum1 = 18;
sum2 = 18;