cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Danijel_V
Level III

Choosing factors in model building with forward stepwise regression

Hello!

I am using JMP 13 in my master's thesis in order to build a statistical model. I am new at building models, so I apologize in advance if my questions seem a little basic, but any kind of help would really mean a lot to me.

In my master's thesis, I did a Definitive Screening Design (6 factors + 2 fake factors, 7 responses, 17 runs) in order to study some process. After completing all the experiment and analysis necessary, I analyzed the gathered data with two analytical methodologies proposed by Jones and Nachtsheim in 2016 (Effective model selection for DSDs (EMS) method or Forward stepwise regression (FSR)). They say that EMS is generally preferred, but FSR performs adequately if the number of active effects is no more than half the number of runs and there are at most two active two-way interactions or at most one active quadratic effect (DOE Guide p. 257). These conditions hold for all of our responses.

I have some questions regarding selecting factors for model building with the FSR method. I did the FSR with the following conditions:

Stopping Rule: Minimum AICc

Direction: Forward

Rules: Combine

FSR chose some factors and I made a model with standard least squares.

So here is my first question: