cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Register for our Discovery Summit 2024 conference, Oct. 21-24, where you’ll learn, connect, and be inspired.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
qli107966
Level I

Avg & SD caluclation for multiple columns in JMP

Hello,

I'm quite new to JMP and looking for some advise how to performance below tasks:
1. can JMP combine multiple files with multiple random tabs together into one data table?

2. in the data table, how to calculate multiple columns (with the same column name and column number is random) average and standard deviation as two new columns?

3. can I make a plot using +- 3 sigma as spec range, and other raw columns data as scatter plot to quantify if all within spec or not? 

4. Can JMP report pass or fail if any data point out of the spec? even for linear regression using Fit Y by X model? (I tried to use Fit Y by X but unable to draw any spec properly, unable to find that feature available)

I've attached 4 excel files and one png to show what I'm trying to do for your reference. Thank you for your help in advance.

1 REPLY 1

Re: Avg & SD caluclation for multiple columns in JMP

Others should chime in since my answers may have ideas that I did not think of.

1) I am assuming you are trying to import Excel workbooks since you mentioned several tabs. You can certainly import an Excel workbook with multiple tabs into a single data table. You can import multiple Excel files at once, but they may not be into a single table. I do not think you can do both at the same time. But you could do it as a two-step process: bring in each file with the multiple tabs and then join the resulting JMP data tables.