cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
bwwhite
Level II

Anyone know how to create divergent bar chart for Likert scale data?

I would like to use JMP to create a divergent bar chart from Likert scale data (e.g., extremely dislike, strongly dislike, ... extremely like). I learned how to create such charts in R (see image below), but would much rather do it in JMP. I've seen examples in Tableau, but that's a real nightmare to create what I want there. I can figure out how to do it in JMP using negative and positive counts if I don't include the "neutral" data. I've tried splitting the neutral into 2 categories ("don't dislike" and "don't like", or some such pseudo-terminology.

Any suggestions? I have a reasonable degree of scripting skills in JMP, so that's certainly a possiblity.

Thanks!

8994_divergent bar.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
XanGregg
Staff

Re: Anyone know how to create divergent bar chart for Likert scale data?

Using negative counts for the disagreeing responses and half the neutrals works OK.

9176_Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 9.15.29 PM.png

Another method just occurred to me that avoids the negative scale values: combine two graphs back-to-back, one with the agreeing items and another with the disagreeing items but reverse the scale of the latter:

9177_Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 9.18.41 PM.png

After splitting the neutral responses in half, I made a graph with two X axes. One axis had the 3 disagreeing responses and one had the 3 agreeing responses. I also made the graph spacing equal to 0 to remove the middle seam. Full script:

Graph Builder(

Size( 532, 454 ),

Show Control Panel( 0 ),

Graph Spacing( 0 ),

Variables(

X( :strongly disagree ),

X( :disagree, Position( 1 ) ),