cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
michelle
Level I

Analyzing factorial experiment with missing data

I will preface my question with the fact that I am new to DOE in general. After trying to learn the basics, I designed a 2^5 full factorial experiment with 5 center points (to obtain an estimate of process error). Ultimately the process is producing samples, which we are characterizing in different ways. We are looking at MANY responses. The problem is that for some of the samples, we cannot do all of the characterization, because for some reason that sample was not viable for that type of characterization. So, I am wondering how to analyze the results with a few missing data points. Right now I am trying to do something really simple and just calculate main effects, interaction effects, etc. I produced a spreadsheet to hand calculate the results, and also ran the data through the software. For the responses where I had all the data, the effects I calculate are the same as those calculated by the software. For the responses where I am missing a few data points, the effects are DIFFERENT. They are close - but not the same. All I changed in my calculation was omitting the data points I didn't have (so if I needed to average eight values, I would average seven, for example). What I would really like to know is how the software calculates the effects if there are data points missing? How can I reproduce this calculation? I can't for the life of me find information on what to do in general with missing data points. I believe that there is still a lot of value in mining the results since I am only missing a few data points out of 32 runs...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
louv
Staff (Retired)