cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Forrest
Level II

Analysis of stress-strain curve data

Hi 

I'm completely new to JMP and have recently signed up for the trial license, with the purpose of investigating if JMP can provide any value with regards to analysis of data from uni-axial tensile testing of materials. I've attached a sample set of data, which represents the stress and strain output from the testing. 

The data should be viewed as a time history data and I'm hopping that I can get some input on how to most efficiently apply JMP, and what tools I could use. I'm interested in determining sings such as the following:

• The yield stress and strain with confidence. The yield point is the first point where the slope is zero. 
  • Fit a curve and consider some sort of metric to quantify if the data can be assessed with confidence to represent the population. 

Any input will be highly appropriated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
gzmorgan0
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Analysis of stress-strain curve data

All of these suggestions are terrific. But if you are like most of us, you want to know the benefit before investing the time.  I extended @statman's suggestions and @P_Bartell using basic features of JMP.

Data Prep

• The Excel table you provided had circular links for both labels and values. In Excel, I did a quick copy/paste of your tables, specifying values and saved it.  I don't know of a method in JMP's Excel Wizard to say use Values, however from Excel you can make a JMP table if you have the JMP add-in,
  • In JMP, I used the Excel Wizard to read in the data, using the first 3 columns as headers and data starts on line 4.image.png