cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ProfCorrow
Level I

ANOVA with multiple repeated measures factors

I am new to JMP and having a hard time running a repeated measures ANOVA.  The problem is that I have two factors and BOTH are repeated measures.  All of the examples find online show repeated measures ANOVA with one between subjects factor and one within.  Can anyone help? Here is a description.  

One group of subjects.  This is a face recognition task with eye tracking.  The dependent variable is the duration of looking time.  

Repeated measures factor 1: Face Half (upper face vs lower face)

Repeated measures factor 2: Phase (Learning, Target, and Distractor)

In short, we are interested in seeing if subjects look longer to the upper or lower face and also if their duration of looking time differs across phase (when the learn the face, for target faces, or for distractor faces).  Plus the interaction. 

Help! 

18 REPLIES 18
ProfCorrow
Level I

Re: ANOVA with multiple repeated measures factors

Ok, I'm with you on your first point. I can see how it would take a long time for these methods to be updated and become mainstream.

Regarding this comment, "if one used a traditional MANOVA for a repeated measures analysis, the subject is a random effect." Can I ask my question a different way perhaps? If I use the JMP add-in for full factorial repeated measures ANOVA to do my analysis (as I did at the beginning of this thread), would subject be treated as a fixed or random effect?