cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ProfCorrow
Level I

ANOVA with multiple repeated measures factors

I am new to JMP and having a hard time running a repeated measures ANOVA.  The problem is that I have two factors and BOTH are repeated measures.  All of the examples find online show repeated measures ANOVA with one between subjects factor and one within.  Can anyone help? Here is a description.  

One group of subjects.  This is a face recognition task with eye tracking.  The dependent variable is the duration of looking time.  

Repeated measures factor 1: Face Half (upper face vs lower face)

Repeated measures factor 2: Phase (Learning, Target, and Distractor)

In short, we are interested in seeing if subjects look longer to the upper or lower face and also if their duration of looking time differs across phase (when the learn the face, for target faces, or for distractor faces).  Plus the interaction. 

Help! 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Re: ANOVA with multiple repeated measures factors

The add-in treats the subject effect as fixed, which is why you get the same results as you did with SPSS.

I believe that the add-in was created to reproduce the SPSS style of analysis for users who expect results when subject effects are treated as fixed. The note from the JMP Knowledge Base treats subject effects as random.

Repeated measures is a common study design that can use MANOVA. You measure the response of the same subject at multiple times. You can include one or more factors and covariates. The subject effect is again treated as random.

Sorry but it is difficult to keep up with you. I am having muliple and deep computer prolems - at the BIOS level!

View solution in original post

julian