cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
AldenO
Level II

2 Mixtures Design Question

Hello, I am very new to JMP and I'm trying to design an experiment with 2 mixtures and a couple of other non-mixture variables each with 3 factors in JMP 16 Pro. 

Mixture A is produced first in batches. Each batch of mixture A is then divided into five parts where I then add varying amounts mixture B.  Is there way to do this in JMP?

Here is what I have so far in my experiment:

image.png

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
statman
Super User

Re: 2 Mixtures Design Question

Sorry, It is difficult to provide much specificity in which experiments to run when adequate context is not provided.  I can completely understand the situation may be confidential, and that may not allow you to provide details.  Unfortunately, without some essential criteria for design selection, it is difficult to provide advice.  For example, we don't know what effects you are trying to estimate (do you have a model in mind?).

That doesn't mean you don't have options.  For example, instead of doing a classic mixture design, you could think about combining factors into ratios and then exaggerate those levels and run a screening design with the other factors.  

You could still do a split-plot design as the processing is sequential.  Design and run an experiment to create batches.  Then run a second experiment on the samples from those batches.  

"All models are wrong, some are useful" G.E.P. Box

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
statman
Super User