cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JMP Library

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Latest Posts

  • Resize Graphs (Windows)

    To resize several similar graphs in the same window simultaneously, hold the Ctrl key and resize one graph. All the graphs are resized to match the one that you changed. Resizing Graphs Resizing Graphs

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:53 AM
    1627 views | 0 replies
  • Run Data Table Scripts

    Running a script in a data table has never been easier. Simply click the green triangle. Note: To edit a data table script, right-click the script name and select Edit. Click Green Triangle

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:52 AM
    864 views | 0 replies
  • Paste Data with Column Names

    In many cases, data that you copy from an external source have column names in the first line. To paste the data using the first line as column names, select Edit > Paste with Column Names.  

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:51 AM
    2069 views | 0 replies
  • Change the Number of Decimal Places

    Double-click a numeric column in a report to change the number of displayed decimal places. Numeric Output

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:50 AM
    1867 views | 0 replies
  • Standardize Axis Scaling

    If you want a set of graphs to have axes with the same scale, follow these steps: Right-click on the correctly scaled axis.Select Edit > Copy Axis Settings.Right-click on the axis that you want to rescale.Select Edit > Paste Axis Settings. Copy and Paste Axis Settings

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:50 AM
    1413 views | 0 replies
  • Change Marker Sizes (macOS)

    If you want larger markers in a graph, right-click in the graph and select a marker size from the Marker Size menu. Marker Size Menu If you always want markers to be bigger in all your graphs, set the marker size in Preferences. Select JMP > Preferences.Select the Graphs page.Select the size that you want from the Graph Marker size menu. Marker Size Preference

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:49 AM
    663 views | 0 replies
  • Change Marker Sizes (Windows)

    If you want larger markers in a graph, right-click in the graph and select a marker size from the Marker Size menu. Marker Size Menu If you always want markers to be bigger in all your graphs, set the marker size in Preferences. Select File > Preferences.Select the Graphs page.Select the size that you want from the Graph Marker size menu. Marker Size Preference

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:49 AM
    2899 views | 0 replies
  • Fill a Column with Values

    There are two ways to repeat a set of values down a data table column. Using a Fill Command Highlight the values that you want to repeat and right-click.Select Fill > Repeat sequence to end of table. Fill Menu Using Copy and Paste Highlight the values and select Edit > Copy.Highlight the destination cells and select Edit > Paste. The paste operation cycles through the cells in your selecti...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:49 AM
    2390 views | 0 replies
  • Easy Column Selection

    Specify columns in launch windows in two ways: Select their names and click the appropriate button (for example, Y, Columns).Drag and drop columns from one list to the other. To remove a column from a role, double-click it. Dragging a Column

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:48 AM
    611 views | 0 replies
  • Value Labels

    Frequently, raw data is coded in a non-informative way. For example, a person's gender might be coded with a M for male and a F for female. To see better labels in reports, use the Value Labels option. These labels are used in all reports and also in the data table. Right-click the column name of raw data and select Column Info.Click the Column Properties button and select Value Labels.Enter eac...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:48 AM
    1968 views | 0 replies
  • Change Multiple Columns Simultaneously

    Apply attributes and properties (such as formulas) to several columns at once: Select the column with the attributes that you want to copy.Select Cols > Standardize Attributes.Click the Attributes button and select the attribute name that you want to copy to the destination columns.Click the button next to Format and select the format that you want to use and any additional options.In the data t...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:47 AM
    1133 views | 0 replies
  • Switch Columns (macOS)

    Switch columns in a report using the Column Switcher: From the red triangle menu, select Redo > Column Switcher.Choose the column that you want to switch from. Choose the columns that you want to switch to.Click OK. If you have multiple columns, use the buttons to animate the column switching or step through each column manually. Column Switcher

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:47 AM
    870 views | 0 replies
  • Switch Columns (Windows)

    Switch columns in a report using the Column Switcher: There are two ways to open the Column Switcher:In the Report toolbar, click Column Switcher Column Switcher Icon.If you don't see the Report toolbar, select View > Toolbars > Report. From the red triangle menu, select Redo > Column Switcher. Choose the column that you want to switch from. Choose the columns that you want to switch to.Click OK....

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:47 AM
    1117 views | 0 replies
  • Locate Selected Rows (macOS)

    It is sometimes tedious to scroll through large data tables to find selected cells. To quickly locate the next selected row, press both command and }. To quickly locate the previous selected row, press both command and {. These correspond to commands on the Rows menu: Next Selected and Previous Selected. Next Selected Menu

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:46 AM
    741 views | 0 replies
  • Locate Selected Rows (Windows)

    It is sometimes tedious to scroll through large data tables to find selected cells. To quickly locate the next selected row, press F7. To quickly locate the previous selected row, press F6. These correspond to commands on the Rows menu: Next Selected and Previous Selected. Next Selected Menu

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:46 AM
    1130 views | 0 replies
  • Select Multiple Histogram Bars

    To select several bars in a histogram, hold down the Shift key while selecting the bars. Selected Bars

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:46 AM
    638 views | 0 replies
  • Drag and Drop Variables

    You can drag and drop variables from a data table into a graph. Drag and Drop Variables from a Table You can drag and drop a variable from one axis to another within a graph. Drag and Drop a Variable in a Graph Note: This functionality is supported on certain platforms only.

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:46 AM
    882 views | 0 replies
  • Quick Scroll to Column

    When you have many columns, instead of scrolling through the data to get to the column that you want, double-click the column name in the column panel to jump to it. Scroll to Column

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:46 AM
    730 views | 0 replies
  • Text Import Preview (macOS)

    Use the Text Import Preview window to see a preview of how JMP imports a text file: Select File > Open.Select the text file that you want to open.Select Open As > Data (Using Preview).Click Open. The Text Import Preview shows you how your text file is imported. You can change settings and see what effect the changes have on the text.When the data is set the way you want, click Next to see a wind...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:45 AM
    678 views | 0 replies
  • Text Import Preview (Windows)

    Use the Text Import Wizard window to see a preview of how JMP imports a text file: Select File > Open.Select the text file that you want to open.At the bottom of the Open Data File window, select the option Data (Using Preview).Click Open. The Text Import Preview shows you how your text file is imported. You can change settings and see what effect the changes have on the text.When the data is se...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:44 AM
    969 views | 0 replies
  • Dynamic Text Re-Sizing (macOS)

    You can change text sizes in JMP without using Preferences. To increase all font sizes by one point: Select View > Make Text Bigger. Or, hold down the command key and type +. To decrease all font sizes by one point: Select View > Make Text Smaller. Or, hold down the command key and type -. Text Resizing Options

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:44 AM
    762 views | 0 replies
  • Dynamic Text Re-Sizing (Windows)

    You can change text sizes in JMP without using Preferences. To increase all font sizes by one point: Select Window > Font Sizes > Increase Font Sizes. Or, hold down the Control and Shift keys and type +. To decrease all font sizes by one point: Select Window > Font Sizes > Decrease Font Sizes. Or, hold down the Control and Shift keys and type -. Text Resizing Options

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:43 AM
    1183 views | 0 replies
  • Local Data Filter (macOS)

    If your data table contains row states and you do not want to affect them, use the Local Data Filter. The actions of this data filter are temporary and you can experiment with it. Add a Local Data Filter to a report: Click the right arrow at the top of the report window and select Local Data Filter.Local Data Filter Option If the report window is wide enough, click the Local Data Filter icon that ...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:43 AM
    861 views | 0 replies
  • Local Data Filter (Windows)

    If your data table contains row states and you do not want to affect them, use the Local Data Filter. The actions of this data filter are temporary and you can experiment with it. Choose how to add a Local Data Filter to a report: In the Report toolbar, click Local Data Filter Local Data Filter Icon.If you don't see the Report toolbar, select View > Toolbars > Report. From the report's red trian...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:42 AM
    1244 views | 0 replies
  • Keyboard Shortcuts for Tools

    To access JMP tools, press the following keys: Arrow tool = aHelp tool = ?Selection tool = sScroller tool = rGrabber (Hand) tool = hBrush tool = bLasso tool = lMagnifier (Zoom) tool = zCrosshairs tool = cRuler tool = d(Text) Annotate tool = tLine, Polygon, and Simple Shape tool = no shortcuts Note: The letter can be lowercase or capitalized.

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:42 AM
    1020 views | 0 replies