cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JMP Library

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Latest Posts

  • Move Row Labels

    If you have a row labeled in a graph, you can move the label. Select a point on a graph.Select Rows > Label/Unlabel.Click and drag on the label to move it. Move Row Labels

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:42 AM
    1199 views | 0 replies
  • Hide Unused Menus (macOS)

    If there are certain menus that you do not use, you can hide them from the menu toolbar. Select JMP > Preferences > Menu.Deselect the menus that you want to hide.Click OK. Menu Preferences  

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:41 AM
    826 views | 0 replies
  • Hide Unused Menus (Windows)

    If there are certain menus that you do not use, you can hide them from the menu toolbar. Select File > Preferences > Menu.Deselect the menus that you want to hide.Click OK. Menu Preferences  

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:41 AM
    1171 views | 0 replies
  • Filter and Search Columns

    When you select an analysis platform from the Analyze or Graph menus, a launch window appears. All of the columns in your data table appear in the Select Columns list. If your data contains many columns, you can use the filters or search for a specific column. To search for a specific column: 1. Click the red triangle under Select Columns. 2. Click Show Filter (unless it is already selected). 3. A...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:41 AM
    3000 views | 0 replies
  • Set Specification Limits

    You can set specification limits on a column and enable them to show on graphs, as follows: Right-click on the column that you want to set specification limits for and select Column Properties > Spec Limits. Enter any of the following: a lower specification limit, an upper specification limit, or a target value. Select the Show as Graph Reference Lines check box. Click OK. Perform any analysis to...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:41 AM
    3647 views | 0 replies
  • Customize the Legend in Graph Builder (macOS)

    Here are some helpful tips when working with the legend in Graph Builder: Double-click anywhere in the legend to hide or rearrange items. Press Control and click an item in the legend to change its properties. Click an item in the legend to select the corresponding rows in the data table. Legend Settings Window

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:40 AM
    1451 views | 1 replies
  • Customize the Legend in Graph Builder (Windows)

    Here are some helpful tips when working with the legend in Graph Builder: Double-click anywhere in the legend to hide or rearrange items. Right-click an item in the legend to change its properties. Click an item in the legend to select the corresponding rows in the data table. Legend Settings Window

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:40 AM
    2197 views | 0 replies
  • Overlay Multiple Elements in Graph Builder

    To overlay an element on an existing element in Graph Builder, press Shift then click the element icon that you want to overlay. For example, if you already have points showing in your graph, and you want to overlay a contour, press Shift and click the Contour element. Overlay Graph Builder Elements

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:39 AM
    2139 views | 0 replies
  • Clean Up Your Data Using Recode

    Use the Recode option to quickly clean up mismatched data in a column or update multiple values at once. Select the column that you want to clean up or update.Select Cols > Recode. Example of Recode

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:39 AM
    1688 views | 0 replies
  • Change Treemap Layout for Easier Comparison

    For ease of comprehension, use Squarify to arrange the rectangles in order of size in your treemap. The largest rectangle appears in the top left corner and the smallest rectangle appears in the lower right corner. Turn on Squarify: From Graph Builder: In the Treemap properties panel, change the Layout to Squarify.From Treemap: In the launch window, select Squarify from the Layout list. Example of...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:39 AM
    1005 views | 0 replies
  • Quickly Rename a Column Heading

    To quickly rename a column heading in a data table, click in the heading and start typing. Rename Column Heading

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:38 AM
    899 views | 0 replies
  • Close Multiple Windows (macOS)

    If you have many windows open, and you want to close all but one, select File > Close Multiple and select the windows. Close All But This Example

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:38 AM
    830 views | 0 replies
  • Close Multiple Windows (Windows)

    If you have many windows open, and you want to close all but one, use the Close All But This option in the Window List. Close All But This Example

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:37 AM
    1312 views | 0 replies
  • Preview the Distribution Behind an Aggregation in Hover Label Graphs

    Do you want to see and compare the distribution of the data behind aggregated visual elements, like slices in a pie chart, tiles in a treemap, or bars in a bar chart? Add a histogram, heatmap, or box plot to a hover label. In a JMP graph, right-click and select Hover Label.Select the type of graph you want to add.Select a Hover Label Type Hover over an element in the graph.Show a Hover Label (Opti...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:36 AM
    868 views | 0 replies
  • Drill Down in Hover Label Graphs

    Do you want to drill down along a categorical hierarchy and see an aggregation at different levels? Add a bar chart to a hover label. In a JMP graph, right-click and select Hover Label > Bar.Select a Hover Label Type Hover over a bar in the graph.Show a Hover Label Click the hover label graph to open it in a new window.Open a Hover Label For more information, see the hover labels section in the J...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:36 AM
    850 views | 0 replies
  • Explore the Numbers Behind a Graph in a Hover Label

    Do you want to explore the actual numbers behind a visualization? Add a Tabulate table to a hover label. In a JMP graph, right-click and select Hover Label > Tabulate.Select a Hover Label Type Hover over a point in the graph.Show a Hover Label Click the hover label graph to open it in a new window.Click the disclosure icon to open the Local Data Filter.Open a Local Data Filter To update the Tabula...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:36 AM
    1203 views | 0 replies
  • Remove Entries from a Hover Label

    Remove unwanted entries from a hover label using the Hover Label Editor. In a JMP graph, right-click on a hover label and select Edit.Edit a Hover Label In the Hover Label Editor, click the data that you want to remove (in this case, name).Select Data to Remove In the Delete tab, the selected data appears under Target. Click Add. In this case, this adds "name" under Entries (for deletion).Click OK...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:36 AM
    1151 views | 0 replies
  • Get Targeted Help

    From a data table or report window, select Tools > Help and then click anywhere to launch the JMP Help for that area. This example shows the JMP Help for the Frequencies report in the Distribution platform. Help Tool on Frequencies Report Help for the Frequencies Report

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:34 AM
    974 views | 0 replies
  • JMP Newswire

    Get tips on using JMP and find out about events and training.
    Subscribe to the JMP Newswire at jmp.com/newswire. You'll get a monthly email with all the latest JMP news. Subscribe to JMP Newswire

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:33 AM
    823 views | 0 replies
  • JMP Support

    Have a question about JMP? You can: Get in touch with JMP Support through the phone or email, or find help online. Go to jmp.com/support.Find answers to your questions in the JMP User Community. Go to community.jmp.com.

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:33 AM
    1771 views | 0 replies
  • An Empirical Semiparametric One-sided Confidence Bound for Lower Quantiles of Distributions with Positive Support

    Authors Caleb King (1), Peter Parker (2), Derek Young (3) Affiliations (1) JMP Statistical Discovery, (2) NASA, (3) University of Kentucky Journal Quality and Reliability Engineering International Date Published December 2023 Abstract In many industries, the reliability of a product is often determined by a quantile of a distribution of a product's characteristics meeting a specified requirement. ...

    calking calking
    Dec 15, 2023 6:28 AM
    760 views | 0 replies
  • Selected JMP Resources

    JMP is the preferred statistical software for scientists and engineers. We want you to know and benefit from the key resources, so we collected them for you.   A must have for everyone Sign up for a monthly update on tips, tricks, and events JMP User Community  (In case you post a question please add "@martindemel" to your post, so he gets notified   JMP Start Hands-On Excel File for exercise (loo...

    martindemel martindemel
    Dec 12, 2023 1:59 AM
    4733 views | 0 replies
  • On the Testing of Statistical Software

    Authors Ryan Lekivetz (1), Joseph Morgan (1) Affiliations (1) JMP Statistical Discovery Journal Journal of Statistical Theory and Practice, vol. 15, no. 4 Date Published 2021 Abstract Testing statistical software is an extremely difficult task. What is more, for many statistical packages, the developer and test engineer are one and the same, may not have formal training in software testing techni...

    JosephMorgan JosephMorgan
    Nov 16, 2023 11:18 AM
    759 views | 0 replies
  • Residual fault density prediction using regression methods

    Authors Joseph Morgan (1), George Knafl (2) Affiliations (1) JMP Statistical Discovery (2) DePaul University Journal Proceedings of ISSRE'96: 7th International Symposium on Software Reliability Engineering Date Published 1996 Abstract Regression methods are used to model residual fault density in terms of several product and testing process measures. Process measures considered include discovered ...

    JosephMorgan JosephMorgan
    Nov 16, 2023 11:16 AM
    1480 views | 0 replies
  • Optimization under disallowed combinations

    Inventors Joseph Morgan, Yeng Saanchi, Laura Lancaster, Christopher Gotwalt, Caleb King, Ryan Lekivetz Patent Number US-11194940 Date Granted 12/07/2021 Description A computing system determines a design space for designing a design system. The computing system receives a request to identify input(s) that will provide a response of the design system that advances a user-defined goal for the design...

    calking calking
    Nov 15, 2023 12:19 PM
    1054 views | 0 replies