cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
  • Don’t miss your chance to experience Discovery Summit Europe at our best available rate! Early bird registration through 31 Oct.
  • Graph Builder Toolbar streamlines interactive graphing. Creates shortcuts on Report and GraphBuilder Helpers toolbars. Download and install the extension.
  • JMP will suspend normal business operations for our Rest and Recharge Day on Friday, October 2, 2026.
    Regular business hours will resume on Monday, October 5, 2026.

JMP Library

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Latest Posts

  • Assessing Normality

    This guide provides some ways to assess the fit of a normal distribution to a continuous variable. See options for fitting and assessing the fit of other non-normal distributions in the Fitting Distributions guide.   From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Distribution.Select one or more continuous variables from Select Columns and click Y, Columns.Click OK to generate a histogram (Histogr...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 1:06 PM
    1507 views | 0 replies
  • Introduction to the JMP Scripting Language

    This course covers the basics of scripting with JSL and then progresses to more advanced topics, including working with data tables, using matrices to facilitate computations, scripting analyses, and capturing results to make custom reports. The course also presents suggested best practices throughout.

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Feb 11, 2026 1:05 PM
    62493 views | 0 replies
  • Finding the Area Under a Normal Curve

    This guide demonstrates how to find the area under the normal curve using formulas and the Distribution Calculator. Column Formula for Area Under a Normal Curve (One Value)
    1. Select File > New > Data Table.
    2. Add one row - select Rows > Add Rows, and type “1”. Click OK.
    3. Right-click on Column 1, and select Formula to access the Formula Editor.
    4. From the function list on the left, select Probabi...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 1:04 PM
    756 views | 0 replies
  • Finding Standardized Values (z-Scores)

    This guide demonstrates three methods for calculating standardized values (z-scores) for a continuous variable. Method 1 (Save Standardized) From an open JMP data table, select Analyze > Distribution.Select one or more continuous variables from Select Columns and click Y, Columns.Click OK to generate a histogram and descriptive statistics.Click on the red triangle for the variable, and select Sav...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 1:03 PM
    1219 views | 0 replies
  • Random Sampling and Random Data

    This guide demonstrates methods for selecting a random sample and generating random data. Random Sampling From an open JMP data table, select Tables > Subset.Specify how you’d like the sample to be selected: Random – sampling rate (specify the proportion).Random – sample size (specify the desired sample size).To select a stratified sample across another variable, check Stratify and select the var...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 1:02 PM
    1186 views | 0 replies
  • Hypothesis Tests and Confidence Intervals for Proportions

    Use to estimate via a confidence interval and perform hypothesis tests for a population proportion.  Confidence Intervals for Population Proportions From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Distribution.Select one or more categorical variables from Select Columns, click Y, Columns (categorical variables have red or green bars).
    Note: If you have summarized data (a column with counts), enter ...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 1:02 PM
    729 views | 0 replies
  • Two Proportions Test and Confidence Interval

    Use to Estimate via a confidence interval and perform a hypothesis test for the difference between two population proportions. If comparing more than two proportions, refer to the Chi Square Tests for a Two-Way Table guide.  Two Proportions Test   From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Fit Y by X.Choose the binary response variable for the Y, Response.Choose the 2 levels variable that def...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 1:01 PM
    885 views | 0 replies
  • One Sample t-Test and Confidence Interval

    Use to estimate via a confidence interval or perform a hypothesis test for a population mean. Confidence Interval for the Mean From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Distribution.Select one or more continuous variables from Select Columns, click Y, Columns (continuous variables have blue triangles), and click OK.  Car Physical Data.jmp (Help > Sample Data Folder)                 The Upper...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 1:01 PM
    963 views | 0 replies
  • Chi Square Tests for a Two-Way Table

    Use to test for independence or homogeneity of two categorical variables. If comparing only two groups with a binary outcome, refer to the Two Proportions Test and Confidence Interval guide. The Contingency Table Analysis   From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Fit Y by X.Click on a categorical variable from Select Columns, and click Y, Response (categorical variables have red or green b...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 1:00 PM
    1285 views | 0 replies
  • Two Sample t-Test and Confidence Intervals

    Use to Estimate via a confidence interval and perform a hypothesis test for the difference between two population means. If more than two means (more than two levels of the categorical X variable), refer to the One-Way ANOVA guide. Comparison of Two Population Means                       From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Fit Y by X.Click on a continuous variable from Select Columns, ...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:59 PM
    2089 views | 0 replies
  • Paired t-Test and CI

    Use to test if the populations means of two paired (dependent or correlated) samples are statistically different. Note: The paired measurements must be stored in separate columns. Paired t-Test Using Matched Pairs From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Specialized Modeling > Matched Pairs.Select two continuous variables from Select Columns, click Y, Paired Responses (continuous variables ...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:58 PM
    1000 views | 0 replies
  • One-Way ANOVA

     Use to test for a statistical differences in comparing three or more population means. One-Way Analysis of Variance From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Fit Y by X.Click on a continuous variable from Select Columns, and Click Y, Response (continuous variables have blue triangles).Click on a categorical variable and click X, Factor (categorical variables have red or green bars). Click O...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:58 PM
    1522 views | 0 replies
  • Two-Way (Factorial) ANOVA

    Use to test and estimate the effect that two categorical factors and their interaction have on the population mean.  From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Fit Model.Click on a continuous variable from Select Columns, and click Y, Response (continuous variables have blue triangles).Click on two categorical variables from Select Columns, and click Macros, Full Factorial (categorical variab...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:57 PM
    1006 views | 0 replies
  • Nonparametric Tests

    This guide illustrates how to perform a variety of nonparametric tests. For information on nonparametric correlations and measures of association, see the page Nonparametric Correlations.  One-Sample Nonparametric Tests From an open JMP data table, select Analyze > Distribution.Select one or more continuous variables from Select Columns, click Y, Columns, and click OK. The variable ‘Horsepower’ w...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:56 PM
    902 views | 0 replies
  • Bootstrapping

    This guide provides instructions on the bootstrapping technique – a resampling method for estimating the  sampling distribution of a statistic as a means to generate a confidence interval. Bootstrapping is available from many JMP reports.   Bootstrapping in JMP Report Windows From an analysis platform report window, right-click on the report of interest and select Bootstrap. In this example we us...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:55 PM
    579 views | 0 replies
  • Prediction Interval

    Use to produce an interval estimate of a single observation, a sample of n observations, or the sample mean and standard deviation of a sample of n observations. Prediction Interval for an Individual Observation From an open JMP data table, select Analyze > Distribution.Select one or more continuous variables from Select Columns, click Y, Columns (continuous variables have blue triangles), and cl...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:54 PM
    577 views | 0 replies
  • One Sample Equivalence Test for Mean

    Use to determine if there is statistical evidence exists to demonstrate that a population mean is within a specified range (i.e., “equivalent”) to a hypothesized value.     Equivalence Test for the Mean From an open JMP data table, select Analyze > Distribution.Select one or more continuous variables from Select Columns, click Y, Columns (continuous variables have blue triangles), and click OK.Fr...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:53 PM
    708 views | 0 replies
  • Correlation

    This guide illustrates ways to visualize the relationship between two continuous variables and quantify the linear association via. pearson's correlation coefficient. For information on nonparametric correlations, see the Nonparametric Correlations guide. Correlation Between Two Variables From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Fit Y by X.Click on a continuous variable from Select Columns,...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:52 PM
    2067 views | 0 replies
  • Nonparametric Correlations

    This guide illustrates how to compute nonparametric measures of association (Spearman’s Rho, Kendall’s Tau, and Hoeffding’s D). Nonparametric Correlations                                                                  From an open JMP data table, select Analyze > Multivariate Methods > Multivariate.Select two or more continuous or discrete numeric (nominal or ordinal) from Select Columns, click...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:51 PM
    686 views | 0 replies
  • Simple Linear Regression

    Use to model the bivariate relationship between a continuous explanatory variable with a continuous outcome variable. Useful to describe the relationship between the variables and to predict an outcome for different values of the explanatory variable. Simple Linear Regression Using Fit Y by X From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Fit Y by X.Click on a continuous variable from Select Colu...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:51 PM
    1239 views | 0 replies
  • Multiple Linear Regression

    Use to model the relationship two or more continuous or categorical explanatory explanatory variables has with a continuous outcome variable. Useful to describe the relationships between the variables and to predict an outcome for different values of the explanatory variables.   Multiple Linear Regression Using Fit Model From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Fit Model.Click on a continuo...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:49 PM
    1282 views | 0 replies
  • Stepwise Regression

    Use to perform automated variable selection in multiple linear or logistic regression models. The method is particular useful when there is a large number of candidate explanatory variables. Stepwise Regression From an open table, select Analyze > Fit Model.Select a response variable from Select Columns and click Y.Select predictor variables and click Add.If desired, select a validation column (J...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:48 PM
    1120 views | 0 replies
  • Fit Non-Linear Curve

    Use to build non-linear models describing the relationship between an explanatory variable and an outcome variable.  Fit Curve Select Analyze > Specialized Modeling > Fit Curve.Select a continuous variable from Select Columns, and add to Y, Response.Select a continuous explanatory variable for X, Regressor Add a categorical variable to Group to have a separate model fit for each value of a gr...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:47 PM
    938 views | 0 replies
  • ARIMA Modeling

    Use ARIMA (Auto Regressive Integrated Moving Average) time series models to examine autocorrelation, describe patterns (trends and seasonality), and forecast future time periods.  ARIMA Modeling From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Specialized Modeling > Time Series.Select a continuous variable from Select Columns, and click Y, Time Series (continuous variables have blue triangles). Sel...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:46 PM
    812 views | 0 replies
  • Time Series Smoothing Models

    Use smoothing based time series models to describe patterns and forecast future time periods.  Smoothing Models From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Specialized Modeling > Time Series.Select a continuous variable from Select Columns, and click Y, Time Series (continuous variables have blue triangles). Select a time and click X, Time ID (optional). Click OK.  
    - A time series graph of the...

    gail_massari gail_massari
    Feb 11, 2026 12:46 PM
    834 views | 0 replies