cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
I didn’t know I was a STEM professional

“I’m not tech savvy. I just don’t get math. It’s like a foreign language. I can’t do this.” - Kirsten Boyd, Newburyport High School 

I said those things through middle school, high school, and college as I avoided all things STEM-related. But, with every utterance of one of those phrases, I was adding a brick to the wall...a wall that stood between me and a career in science, technology, engineering, or math.  

Despite meeting with teachers and professors, joining study groups, and sitting in the front of classrooms, the long-standing wall was in my way. Others picked up my lack of self-confidence: Just don’t go into accounting; maybe this isn’t for you; I can’t explain it to you again. 

Despite my efforts, it still didn’t click. I was convinced I was incapable, no matter how hard I tried.  

It didn’t help that my math and science teachers had been men. I grew up believing that men were the ones who excelled in these fields—not women.

Fast forward a decade. I find myself working as an event planner for JMP, a statistical software company. Even after my first year, I still said, “They didn’t hire me for my technical abilities!” I joked, but I still had the same dialog going. Surrounded by such brilliant people, I’d feel like an imposter — the least-intelligent person in the room.

But as time progressed and I started seeing female colleagues working as developers, system engineers, and software educators, I began to see the STEM world a bit differently. I saw myself as an important part of a technical team. And I saw the possibilities: I’m in this room too. I’m here, and I belong!  

My turning point