cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
malurus
Level I

two plots on one graph

Hi all - I'm new to JMP's graph builder. I'm sure this is easy but alas...

I need to present two plots on one graph:
1. bars with s.e. bars (mean long-term rainfall by month)
2. line (no error bars) rainfall data from a single year, also by month

So, same x and same y axes.

Thanks in anticipation.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: two plots on one graph

Hi Malurus,

You are on the right track here. Once you add the two variables to the y-axis, the trick is to use both the Bar and Line graphing elements. (drag and drop the 2nd element onto graph)

From there, modify which variable (current or historical rainfall) applies to which graphing element. To do this:

From lefthand panel, expand the Variables menu

Select historical for the Line element

Select current for the Bar element

You can also add the SE bars for the Bar element via this panel 

You should end up with something like the image below (lefthand panel items indicated in red):

Screen Shot 2020-03-27 at 1.52.07 PM.png

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Malurus,

Can you give us a bit on where you're getting stuck?

You may have more luck with the Overlay plot platform, which lets you plot two y-variables with the same x variable.
malurus
Level I

Thanks Eugene,
Here is the work flow (keeping the rainfall example going):
1) drag month onto x
2) drag long-term rainfall data on y
3) right click points -> change to bar
4) right click bar -> add -> error bars -> standard error
So far so good. But, this is where I get stuck: