cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mben
Level II

"Fit Curve" modeling with multiple x variables

Hi, I am a beginner with no statistics experience.

My problem is I have a single column of y values, and 6 columns of x values. Y is assumed to be caused by a combination of the 6 x values. 

I am trying to come up with a polynomial, using the x parameters, that model the y. I have successfully done this using least squares regression in JMP (and in python) but the results aren't amazing because my data definitely isn't linearly related. From my understanding, for non-linear fits, the Fit Curve is suitable. However, I'm not sure how to do this with multiple X variables since the "Fit Curve" only accepts one.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

7 REPLIES 7
P_Bartell
Level VIII

Re: "Fit Curve" modeling with multiple x variables