cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
New to using JMP? Hit the ground running with the Early User Edition of Discovery Summit. Register now, free of charge.
Register for our Discovery Summit 2024 conference, Oct. 21-24, where you’ll learn, connect, and be inspired.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mben
Level II

Successfully performed Ordinary Least Squares - Whats next?

Hi, 

Here is a picture of a snippet of the dataset I am working with:

mben_0-1635043684520.png

p and k are assumed to be dependent variables, dependent on the rest of the parameters. My goal is to get the best possible polynomial p = f(x1,x2,x3...) to model the relationships between my data. Same thing for x.

So far, I followed a cookie cutter tutorial on how to perform OLS and got a very basic linear polynomial for my data. The Adj. RSquared ended up being around 0.18, which is pretty poor. I want to improve this!

I have very little statistical experience - so could someone please point me in the right direction for learning how to improve the polynomial I already have. In a previous post, a commenter mentioned transforming my data. I did a little searching, but could not figure out the best way to determine what transformations to execute to improve my polynomial. 

Thank you for your time!

P.S. If anyone would be willing to discord screenshare for like 30 minutes to quickly work with me and teach me related JMP/stats stuff so I can learn to solve my problem, I would compensate you for your time.

5 REPLIES 5
statman
Super User

Re: Successfully performed Ordinary Least Squares - Whats next?

Welcome to the JMP community.  I don't understand your situation, but it sounds like you are trying to build a model based just on the data?  You don't provide any information about how the data was obtained.  And now I see you have started multiple threads on the same topic???

Here are my thoughts for developing a model: