cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
pulong
Level I

create formula to generate columns of design matrix

I am a beginner to use JMP, and cannot find similar answers to my questions in JMP community. Suppose that I have a data table with several columns, and the user needs to select the column from the data table and then a design matrix will be generated according the selected column. The selected column and the design matrix will be created in a new data table. But this is not enough. If the user want to change the value in the selected column in the new data table, then the design matrix will be updated accordingly. My problems is that I cannot update the design matrix correctly with the code below:

// create a window to select column

// omit some code to create the window

CheckAndConvert = Expr(

selectedColumns = c << Get Items;

// If inputs are valid, we continue

If(N Items(selectedColumns) > 0,

win << Close Window;

A = Column(selectedColumns);

s = A << GetAsMatrix;   // extract the select column in s  

// create the new data table "Design Matrix"

dt = New Table("Design Matrix");

dt << New Column("slice", Numeric, Values(s[0, 1]));  // copy s to the column "slice" in the new data table

// create corresponding columns of design matrix and adding them into the new data table

For( i=1, i<=Col Max(dt:slice), i++,

dt << New Column("X"||Char(i), Numeric,

After Last,

Formula(

If(dt:slice == i, 1,

)

)

);

);

);

);