cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Valley_Gurl
Level II

Writing a formula using "IF" and Quality Control

Hello all,

I am very new to JMP. I find that I am able to write formulas quite fine but now want to write one that is a bit more "advanced" in JMP. This is the formula:

A – B (+1 if A >= B)

I should add these are dates (DDMYYY=30Mar2000) and I need the numbers to give me a difference of the total days. I am having a ton of trouble getting the formula to write correctly. Parentheses are not easy to insert or at least not for me. And I am not understanding the "IF" logic comparison.

The next issue is, how do I QC (quality control) or double check the equation/my work?

Your help is greatly appreciated.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Re: Writing a formula using "IF" and Quality Control

Going back to your original questions, what if you just use this for the formula:

A - B + If(A >= B, In Days( 1 ), 0 )

View solution in original post

gzmorgan0
Super User (Alumni)

Try:

:A - :B + (:A >=B); //this adds 1 if A is A>=B and zero otherwise

Also if these are dates, the column with the subtraction formula should have the Format as Duration Days. You might also want to investigate the functions floor and ceiling.

If you are working on JMP 12 or later, from the Main Menu select Help > Scripting Index > select Functions for Categories > Select Date Time or search for the function Date Difference() there are 3 examples showing the different options for alignment.    

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8