cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
liqinglei419
Level II

Troubleshooting Failure to sort columns with Sort() Command, and excluding least recent duplicates

Hello!

I have been trying to create a script that graphs a parameter of a multiple samples from multiple tables now. The samples are named in such a way that it is XX-AA, where XX is the ID/name of the sample, and AA is the timestamp of the sample (day 1,2,3, and so forth). I apologize if I am asking so many questions, I am still quite new to programming in JSL.

I have merged my tables, and then wanted to sort my table by the "Date & Time" column, which is formated in a m/d/y h:m:s format. The goal is to remove duplicates of samples, keeping only the most recent of the duplicates, while the other duplcates are hidden and excluded. From the merge of the tables, my script looks like the following:

dtMerged=dt1<<Concatenate(dt2);

dtmerged<<Sort( By(:Sample ID), Order(Ascending));

dtmerged<<Sort(By(:Date & Time), Order(Ascending));

dtmerged<<Select Where(:Sample ID == :Sample ID[Row()+1]);

dtmerged<<hide and exclude;

For whatever reason, it seems that the sort by the "Date & Time" column does not occur, and as result, I am unsure if my row select actually properly works. Would that method of selection hide and exclude the duplicates where a data enry has more than 1 duplicate? I feel that the reason why the sort won't work is because my column name has the "&" symbol in it.

I greatly appreciate your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: Troubleshooting Failure to sort columns with Sort() Command, and excluding least recent duplicat

The JMP Log shows the following error when running your code