Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Share Add-In menu with other users

vjalvim

Occasional Contributor

Joined:

Sep 11, 2017

Hello,

 

I created an Add-In menu and commands to run some scripts.

I shared this scripts at the network and install in a computer using my username / password.

But, when another user log in the computer and try to access the Add-In, it doesn't appear to the another user.

How can I solve this, I mean, how can I share this Add-In with another user accounts in the same computer.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
ian_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Solution

Place the .jmpaddin file in a location that the other user can reach, then ask them to use 'File > Open' with this file. It should prompt to confirm the install should proceed.

ian_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Solution

Yes. It will be available unless you 'unregister' it via 'View > Add-Ins...'.

5 REPLIES
ian_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

One of the nice things about a JMP add-in is that it bundles everything into one file. If you put that file into a shared location, then anyone who can access that location can install it into their own JMP instance. No passwords are required, unless you built that requirement into the add-in itself.

I haven't tried it, but I assume that having multiple user accounts on the same machine should not be an issue. What errors do they see?

 

vjalvim

Occasional Contributor

Joined:

Sep 11, 2017

The Add-In that I installed using my credentials is not available when another user access JMP with his credentials.
The menu Add-In don't appear.
ian_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Solution

Place the .jmpaddin file in a location that the other user can reach, then ask them to use 'File > Open' with this file. It should prompt to confirm the install should proceed.

vjalvim

Occasional Contributor

Joined:

Sep 11, 2017

Ok, thanks. I did this and works. Only one last question: I suppose that each user needs to do this action.
But, it is necessary only one time?
ian_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Solution

Yes. It will be available unless you 'unregister' it via 'View > Add-Ins...'.