Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Shade in red within control limits with phases used to create different limits

scottahindle

Occasional Contributor

Joined:

May 18, 2017

I recently learnt how to shade in specified regions on a time-series plot which I think is a great feature. (See attachment)

I would like to do something similar on a control chart when I have different phases used.

I know that a default option is to "Shade zones" which uses the colours red, yellow and green. As in the time-series I include in attachment I would prefer to shade in the region within the process control limits with one colour (red). No other shading.

Is this request only achievable through scripting?

Any assistance/advice much appreciated, Scott.

(See also attachment to see what my points allude to.)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

Solution

You can change the zone colors by using the Customize capability of the graph.  To do this, first go to the red triangle, and select "Shade Zones".  Then right click on the graph and select "Customize".  It will bring up the customize window, which will let you change the colors of the shaded areas.

zones 2.PNG

zones.PNG

Jim
4 REPLIES
txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

Solution

You can change the zone colors by using the Customize capability of the graph.  To do this, first go to the red triangle, and select "Shade Zones".  Then right click on the graph and select "Customize".  It will bring up the customize window, which will let you change the colors of the shaded areas.

zones 2.PNG

zones.PNG

Jim
tonya_mauldin0

Joined:

Jan 21, 2015

I didn't see Jim's answer before I posted mine.  I forgot about the customize feature.  Definitely the way to go if you have phases.

scottahindle

Occasional Contributor

Joined:

May 18, 2017

Thanks!

tonya_mauldin0

Joined:

Jan 21, 2015

If you have phases as your example shows, then yes, you will have to use scripting.  If you do not have phases, then you can do this with reference lines.  Run the following to create a control chart:

 

dt=Open("$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp");
obj=dt<<Control Chart Builder(
Show Capability( 0 ),
Variables( Y( :height ) ),
Chart( Position( 1 ), Limits( Sigma( Moving Range ) ) ),
Chart( Position( 2 ), Limits( Sigma( Moving Range ) ) )
);

 

 

Right click on the height axis and choose axis settings.  In the Reference Lines section of the dialog, check the box for Allow Ranges.  For the Min Value, enter the LCL.  For the Max Value, enter the UCL.  Click on black next to Color and choose red.  Click Add.  Click OK.