cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ionatx
Level II

Script to open Data Filter on currently-selected column, with Find and Regex enabled

Full disclosure: I'm not a coder and JSL gives me a particularly difficult time, however I feel that this portion of the script I am writing should be far easier than it has been. I use the Data Filter frequently, with "Find" and "Regular Expressions" enabled (see image), however there is no option to save these settings so they must be cumbersomely re-enabled every time I open the filter. What I would like is an embedded table script that:

1) opens the data filter

2) automatically adds the currently selected column (i.e. I'll selected a column, then launch the script)

3) Enable "Find"

4) Enable "Regular Expression"

image.png

Unfortunately the save script option only saves this:

Current Data Table() << Data Filter(
	Location( {630, 160} ),
	Conditional,
	Add Filter( columns( :name ), Display( :name, Size( 160, 225 ), List Display ) )
);

Find and Regex are not saved with the script . . .

But, here's the part that forced me to reach out for help, I cannot for the life of me figure out how to pass the currently-selected column's name to "columns()" and "Display()" functions.

I've tried many things, for example this:

Names Default to Here( 1 );

dt = Current Data Table( );

col_selected = dt << Get Selected Columns(string);

dt << Data Filter(
	Location( {630, 160} ),
	Conditional,
	Add Filter( columns( col_selected ), Display( col_selected, Size( 160, 225 ), List Display ) )
);

But I get an error:

"Specified Column not found in data table. in access or evaluation of 'columns' , columns( col_selected ) /*###*/"