Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Script to Select Data in Graph Builder

alexhemmert1

Community Trekker

Joined:

Mar 17, 2016

 

I have created a custom map to graph measurement locations on a vehicle to give a visual representation of the process throughout the vehicle. As you can see below. I would like to be able to select all the data represented in the graph builder below and pull it into a new datatable using script Does anyone know how to select data in graph builder using script?

 

 

Capture.PNG

 

 

6 REPLIES
pmroz

Super User

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Selecting information in Graph Builder also selects rows in your data table.  To get the selected rows use this command on your underlying table (pointed to by the variable dt):

 

selected_rows = dt << get selected rows();

if (nrows(selected_rows) > 0,
	// Do some action here
);
alexhemmert1

Community Trekker

Joined:

Mar 17, 2016

Is there anyway to script to automoatically select of the rows show in graph builder, so I don't have to highlight them manually?

pmroz

Super User

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

What do you mean by this statement: "Select the rows shown in graph builder"?

 

JMP datasets and child objects are "cross-linked".  I.e. if you select rows in a table, then any graphs created from that dataset will also highlight the corresponding data in the graph.  Similarly if you select something in graph builder, behind the scenes the corresponding rows in the data table will also be selected.

alexhemmert1

Community Trekker

Joined:

Mar 17, 2016

My data table has points for the whole vehicle and the map in the above example is just points on the left side of the vehicle. I would like to script to be able to highlight just the points in that map to analyze the data in for detail for that specific side.

 

Just realized that I could have a column describing its location and pull the data out by selecting matching.

pmroz

Super User

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

That will work.

 

dt << select rows where(:side == "L");
txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

apparently you are using different maps for different parts of the car.  If this is the case, you can read the data from the map, and it will tell you what parts are displayable from that map, and then select all of the points in your measurement data table that have those parts.

Jim