Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Re: I am trying to build a Transfer Function

dledom

Community Trekker

Joined:

Aug 20, 2014

I am still having trouble building a transfer function.  I am using "Sales" as the output and "Inventory" as the input.  I don't have any missing values (represented by a dot in the data table) in my inventory column.  I build both functions and input as below:

12063_pastedImage_4.png

Which produced the following error.

12062_pastedImage_1.png

Any ideas?

Thanks

6 REPLIES
Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

This is going to be a difficult problem to diagnose without seeing your data. Can you share the data table that you're working with? (Make sure there's nothing proprietary in it before posting it.)

If you're not able to post a sample of the data that you're working with here, your best bet is to contact Tech Support and let them help.

-Jeff

-Jeff
dledom

Community Trekker

Joined:

Aug 20, 2014

Attached is the requested data table.

Thank you.

From: jeff.perkinson

Sent: Wednesday, August 10, 2016 1:04 PM

To: Desta Ledom

Subject: Re: - I am trying to build a Transfer Function

JMP User Community

<https://community.jmp.com/?utm_source=JIVE&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=System%20Email%20Tracking>

I am trying to build a Transfer Function

reply from Jeff Perkinson

<https://community.jmp.com/people/jeff.perkinson?et=watches.email.thread>

in Discussions - View the full discussion

<https://community.jmp.com/message/230171?et=watches.email.thread#230171>

michael_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

If you delete the rows that have missing Sales and Inventory values (the ones that are hidden/excluded already), that will avoid the error message and fit the model.

-Michael

Michael Crotty
Sr Statistical Writer
JMP Development
dledom

Community Trekker

Joined:

Aug 20, 2014

That worked!  Thank you!

jeffrey_hebert

Community Member

Joined:

Sep 12, 2014

I've run into this before. You have some excluded rows with missing values. For some reason, you have to DELETE those rows. Then you should be able to build the transfer function.

dledom

Community Trekker

Joined:

Aug 20, 2014

Thank you for ending SEVERAL very frustrating months!  I can't believe that was the problem all this time!!