cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mikedriscoll
Level VI

Principal component analysis questions

Hi, I'm fairly new to PCA.  I've read up on it a bit and watched several YouTube lectures on the subject. I think I have a so-so handle on it.  I understand the multi-dimensional orthogonal nature of it, that I can use it for variable reduction and categorizing, and it is looking for linear relationships.

I'm more curious about finding trends with parameters of interest using JMP.  For example, if I've got 1 or 2 parameters of interest (Y, response), and 10 or 1000 other variables (X, factor), and am looking for a trend, I might run a script to calculate Rsquare of Y1 for all X, and Y2 for all X, and only list or plot those with an Rsquare > say 0.8, or just use the native y by x platform and plot all Y by all X.  Either method works well because they are always focusing on my chosen responses, but there can be a lot to sift through.

Can PCA help here?  I realize I can just throw my Y1, Y2 as well as all of the X's in the analysis. I'm assuming I understand the interpretation of the output plots, but is there anyway to have JMP focus on parameters of interest?  With 1000 parameters, the output plots are information-dense and parameter names don't seem to be highlighted / un-highlighted when selecting columns.  Also, please let me know if I'm way off track here with what I'm trying to do with PCA.

10 REPLIES 10
KarenC
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Principal component analysis questions

You might want to try the new modeling utility in JMP12 to screen your x's to narrow down to a smaller subset before going to PCA.

Screen Predictors Utility

mikedriscoll
Level VI