Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
jellyfish
Level I

Overlaying Data from Multiple Tables onto the Same Graph

Hello,

I am a grad student who is new to JMP (I downloaded it a couple days ago) working on characterizing a new piece of equipment. I have a standard solution that I have added 20 things to at a known concentration. I then measure the concentration multiple times on the new equipment and I would like to make a graph that has box plots that show the spread of the detected concentrations (which I have done with graph builder) but then I would like to overlay points that show the true concentration on top of it (poorly drawn and shown in figure 2, the red points are the "true" values and the box plots show the detected values).

I currently have two tables. The first table has the data with the columns containing concentration data measured by the instrument. The second table has the same column headings but only has one row, which contains the true concentration of each component of the mixture. Even if I combine tables, I am unable to get the output that I am looking for.

Thanks for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Overlaying Data from Multiple Tables onto the Same Graph

JMP generally works with only one data table, known as the "current data table." Combine the two tables into one table. Create a new data column to indicate which original table a given row came from. You can use this new indicator in the Overlay role in Graph Builder.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

JMP generally works with only one data table, known as the "current data table." Combine the two tables into one table. Create a new data column to indicate which original table a given row came from. You can use this new indicator in the Overlay role in Graph Builder.

jellyfish
Level I

Hello, thanks for your suggestion.