cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
JP27
Level I

Newbie - What am I doing (forecasting hospital admission/Time Series analysis)

Newbie here with little experience in coding (medical background). 

I was given this database which contains all hospital admissions during a 1 year period.

Each row represents an individual admission, and columns contain variables like date of admission (YY/MM/DD hh:mm) or source of admission (home, transfer from other hospital, etc). 

JP27_1-1683222803197.png

This is a very simplified version of how my table looks like. Actual table contains thousands of admissions. Admission date is in ascending order.

I was instructed to develop a forecasting model to see how many admissions we can expect in the following month/year based on this data. I did a bit of research and consider that a Time Series analysis could work for our purpose. It should be something simple: to forecast future daily admissions based on current daily admissions. 

The only way I have been able to get some output was by using by admission date variable in the Y axis, and I am getting something like this:

JP27_0-1683222583533.png

Instead, I am hoping to get something like this:

JP27_2-1683223036043.png

I know I am probably missing some super basic concepts. I read and did the exercises in the JMP book but still I can't solve this. Thank you in advance!

3 REPLIES 3
statman
Super User

Re: Newbie - What am I doing (forecasting hospital admission/Time Series analysis)

Here are my thoughts:

1. History does not predict the future.

2. You want a model to predict the future, you need to study the admissions process to get an understanding of causal factors that affect admissions.  You might also question the admissions data.  How accurate is it?  Are the times/dates correct?  Are there potential opportunities to distort the data (for legal or financial reasons)?