Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
JMPinthePool
Level III

Multiple excel file import, extracting data from specific sheet

Dear expert JMP users, 

I have a lot of data files generated by an instrument that I've used - each one is consistent in format but they are all in individual sub-folders and each folder contains other files that are not of interest.

Is there a way of writing a script (I'm completely new to JMP scripting) to look in all sub-folders of a given directory, search for excel files ending in ' infos.xlsx', and extracting the data from the 13th row and columns 3 to 25 of a worksheet called "Datas", and appending the full filename of each file to each data row??

Please help, I've got 600 files to process!!

Best regards

Ian

4 REPLIES 4
Craige_Hales
Super User

Re: Multiple excel file import, extracting data from specific sheet

use filesindirectory() with the recursive option; then process the list to identify the file of interest.

use the excel wizard to open a sample file; save the script from the source script in the opened table.

combine that with something like Concatenate data tables  (or any of the other similar scripts from pre-MFI days...)

JMP 17 does not have the excel support for anything but the simplest case in MultipleFileImport (yet).

Craige
Craige_Hales
Super User

JMPinthePool
Level III

Thanks - that does look close...

I'm comfortable with setting the 'worksheet settings' as i need them, but that snippet on it's own doesn't seem to run - what do i need to do to make it run properly??

Many thanks

Craige_Hales
Super User