Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
StarfruitBob
Level VI

Multiple File Import, file filtering

Hello everyone,

JSL newbie here! I need to Import Multiple Files, where the file names that are imported have some parameters that need to be met.

• Cannot contain certain characters.  These characters are always at the end of the file name.
  • Must include a certain string
  • If there are identical string segments within the file names found, only the one with the most recent system date & time stamp are imported. I need a way to chop up and compare parts of file names.

Ex: I want all fruit smoothie drinks containing “Apple”, but not “Tomato”. (file name, date & time YYYYMMDD HHMM)

Kiwi_Apple_Mango.csv                                            20220125 1421

Apple_Grape_Kiwi.csv                                              20220125 1243

Durien_Tomato.csv                                                  20220126 1607

Apple_Grape_Kiwi_Tomato.csv                              20220126 1537

Mango_Banana_Durien.csv                                     20220126 0915

Grape_Pineapple_Apple_Avocado.csv                   20220126 0711

Apple_Grape_Kiwi.csv                                              20220127 1111

The naming of the files does have structure.  The string I’m looking for is after multiple delimiters.

Additional asks

• Are there any tips for speeding up the search for these files in a folder where many thousands of files are stored?  I can only filter by extension after the initial search. Currently, it takes many minutes to even search and find all the files in this folder.
  • Any tips for importing a growing number of files? The number of imported files will likely top 1000 in a few months.  All of them have the same data structure.  I’m aware I need to “Stack Similar Files”.  These are all data tables.