cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Esben
Level I

Meaning of the parameter estimates

I am studying what discourages men and women from working in another country. I have my table and I can conclude that women are more discouraged by political factors than men with a significance level of 0,0017. But I am not entirely sure that I understand the "Estimate". What can I say about the -1,2699? 

The score is a ranking of how a factor discourage desire to live and work in that country. From 1 - I does not discourage me, to 5 - It will very much discourage me. 

gender 2.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jiancao
Staff

Re: Meaning of the parameter estimates

It looks you fit a binary logistic regression with several continuous factors. So, each estimates measures the log odds ratio (aks logit) of a factor. For example, for Politic, it shows that a one unit increase in Politic leads to a decrease in log odds ratio by 1.2699. A more widely used measure is odds ratio, which can be requested in JMP

http://www.jmp.com/support/help/13/Odds_Ratios_Nominal_Responses_Only.shtml

Some additional online resources on logistic regression parameters:

https://www.unm.edu/~schrader/biostat/bio2/Spr06/lec11.pdf

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
jiancao
Staff

It looks you fit a binary logistic regression with several continuous factors. So, each estimates measures the log odds ratio (aks logit) of a factor. For example, for Politic, it shows that a one unit increase in Politic leads to a decrease in log odds ratio by 1.2699. A more widely used measure is odds ratio, which can be requested in JMP

http://www.jmp.com/support/help/13/Odds_Ratios_Nominal_Responses_Only.shtml