Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mmkaz
Level II

Maintaining "empty spaces" in resulting column after using if formula

Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new to jmp, so I might seem a little off with what I am asking and probably I won't use the correct terminology, but anyways I m rather despaired because I cannot think of a solution to my problem: 
Let me describe my situation shortly: So I am a student and I am currently working on a set of data. I am looking at adverse drug effects of certain medication and the effect I'm looking at right now is "erectile dysfunction", I got data from baseline and data for 4 weeks, 12 weeks etc. etc., which means I got a column "erectile dysfunction 4wk", "erectile dysfunction baseline" etc. 
I added a new column called "new onset erectile dysfunction 4 wk", which means I am looking at those, who developed the adverse effect after e.g.  4 weeks, filtering out those who got them at baseline and still got them after 4 weeks - irrespectively from the given medication. In short: I am trying to focus on the incidence of erectile dysfunction after 4 weeks to approximate a drug induced effect. 

I used a formula that looks like that:

For Each Row(
	:"new on-set erectile dysfunction 4 WK: y/n "n = If( 
		:"erectile dysfunction Base y/n"n == "n" & :"erectile dysfunction 4 WK: y/n"n
		== "y"
		"y"
		"n"
	)
);

My problem is that by using that formula, jmp replaces my empty values with "n", and I cannot think of any way to modify my formula so that empty spaces remain empty. 

Bildschirmfoto 2021-07-06 um 16.56.28.png

First column is "erectile dysfunction baseline", second is "erectile dysfunction 4wk" and third one is "new-onset erectile dysfunction 4wk".
So I hope anyone can help. Thank you!

4 REPLIES 4
txnelson
Super User

Re: Maintaining "empty spaces" in resulting column after using if formula

Your JSL is setting the the value to

"n"

so one option is to set it to