cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
AnwarSalim
Level II

How to compare baseline data from Derivation and Validation Cohorts?

I am assigned by my supervisor to independently perform an analysis for risk and score models for my study outcome. After cleaning my data and assigning two-third of my sample size as the Derivation cohort and the other as the validation cohort, the next step is to compare the baseline characteristics if they are statistically significant or not. At the moment these two sample sizes of cohorts are in two different data tables, having a similar number of column labels but different raw numbers, as the Derivation sample is larger. I have no knowledge on how to compare (Differences) for example the age between these two cohorts. Please could anyone assist me in how to perform the analysis on JMP?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: How to compare baseline data from Derivation and Validation Cohorts?

You need to read the document, Discovering JMP which is available from the Help pull down menu. There are also tutorials available under the Help menu. The Beginners Tutorial and the Two Means Tutorial should help you understand the direction to go.
Jim

View solution in original post

AnwarSalim
Level II

I have just found out that I had made a huge mistake on how I should approach this kind of study design, apart from being called Derivation cohort and Validation Cohort all the data should be in one data set whereas before I treated them as separated data sets, this made me crazy.