cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Jun1
Level I

Latent Class Analysis: there was a problem fitting the specified model.

Hi all,

I want to perform the Latent Class Analysis. When I do this, I can get the results, but there is a message; 'there is a problem fitting the specified model. It is likely that the specified model is not identifiable. Try fitting a model with 0 or fewer clusters'. In this case, Can I consider the presented results valid?

If not, what should I do? I enter the number 0 in 'Nemuber of Clusters', when I do the LCA. then I am asked to enter the number of cluster. I am a beginner in latent class analysis.

I would be happy if you could suggest any advice.

Thank you in advance.

Best,

Jun

8 REPLIES 8
Phil_Kay
Staff

Re: Latent Class Analysis: there was a problem fitting the specified model.

Hi Jun,

Can you share a bit more about the data that you have? How many variables are you clustering on? How many categories does each variable have? How many rows do you have?

If you are able to share anything else about your situation and objectives it should help the community to understand your problem and provide solutions.

Regards,
Phil
Jun1
Level I

Hi Phil

Thank you for your reply.
I have data on the survey results.
My data is 134 rows (134 participants) and 128 column (128 questions). I want to cluster
participants based on the results of questions.
Each question have two items (1: yes 0:no). There are many question items for which
everyone has the same answer. I suspect that this may affect the results of the latent
class analysis.
I'm happy if you could give me some advices.

Thank you in advance.

Best
Jun
Phil_Kay
Staff