Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
dNADA
Level I

Lack of fit in face-centred composite design

Greetings.

I am a PhD student from non-engineering background and has been using JMP 17 Pro for the past one month. This is my first-time using JMP software and I made self-study through JMP website, YouTube, and Chemistry World to be able to arrive to RSM but I am struggling to troubleshoot the lack-of-fit issue. I started off my optimisation process with fractional factorial design (2^6-2) to screen the important factors using 2-level screening. From there, I made a face-centred composite design for three significant factors using a slightly wider trajectory with six additional centre points, in triplicates with random order of run using RSM in classical design. The output was 60 experiments including 18 centre points for multiple compounds measuring signals. I only had two compounds with insignificant lack-of-fit, the rest of them P<0.001. My question is:

1. How can I check if the high number of centre points causing the biasness in the modelling for other compounds?

2. Is it okay to remove the centre points and keep all other response for modelling?

3.How to check the if the model in the JMP fits the quadratic or any higher order polynomial to adjust it before tweak the instrument. 

4. I read @Phil_Kay suggested the use of Best Subset and SVEM Lasso in Gen Reg for similar issue in another post. Where can I find more detail about data analysis using those two approaches to fit the RSM to get desired lack-of-fit in DOE? 

5. If that is not the case, how to augment the experiment to achieve desired the lack-of-fit? 

Please assists me.

Thank you

Residuals PlotResiduals PlotActual versus Predicted PlotActual versus Predicted Plot

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Victor_G
Super User

Re: Lack of fit in face-centred composite design

Hi @dNADA,

Welcome in the Community !