cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Tara
Level II

JSL script for binning

Hi,

I have a sparse matrix with 1248 rows and 2435 columns. My first column is CustomerID and remaining are products with quantity ordered by each customer as a value. Each column has a different range. I want to standardize the columns values to 1 - 5 by having cut points at 20 percentile. I found interactive binning addin can help me to accomplish if the number of columns are less. I am new to JMP and would appreciate if anyone could help me with JSL script to achieve this. Binning should exclude the missing value.

I have attached my data table for reference. Thanks in Advance.

Regards,

Tara

Utility matrix.png

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Tara
Level II

Re: JSL script for binning

Hi Jim,

Thank you for your time and reply. The script worked fine for the first 7 columns. I could not figure out why it does not proceed further. I have attached the jmp file for your reference. I made minor changes to your script: dt = Current Data Table (); , i = 2 and _col_[RowP80_100]  = 5. Rest remains the same.

Thanks

Tara

View solution in original post

txnelson
Super User

Note:  I just found another issue....well same issue more complex.  Some of the columns have double quotes in the names....that causes the script to error out.......

This could be worked around......but I think the easiest solution is to change the double quotes in the names to single quotes(manually) and then run the script with the change noted below.

This is a common issue, and I should have protected for the issue.

The 7th column is named:

BONNE JAM JAR  T-LIGHT HOLDER