cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
jrintaz
Level I

JMP Basics - how to assign column values

hi, i am new to JMP. i have a data set that defines the co-ordinates of a sqaure. Column X contains co-ordinates x-dierction and column Y has the co-orniates in y direction. I want to name the corners B,C,D,E clockwise and the cenetr of the square A in the data table only and dont want to create any graph/picture

Can anyone help with a JSL script?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: JMP Basics - how to assign column values

I am not sure what you actually are looking for, but if the table below is it, the script following the table will generate the corner names

corner table.PNG

Names Default To Here( 1 );
dt = Current Data Table();
dt << New Column( "Corner Name", character );
dt:Corner Name[dt << get rows where( :x == Col Min( :x ) & :y == Col Min( :y ) )] = "B";
dt:Corner Name[dt << get rows where( :x == Col Min( :x ) & :y == Col Max( :y ) )] = "C";
dt:Corner Name[dt << get rows where( :x == Col Max( :x ) & :y == Col Max( :y ) )] = "D";
dt:Corner Name[dt << get rows where( :x == Col Max( :x ) & :y == Col Min( :y ) )] = "E";
dt:Corner Name[dt << get rows where( :x == Col Mean( :x ) & :y == Col Mean( :y ) )] = "A";
// OR
dt << New Column( "Corner Name 2", character );
dt:Corner Name 2[1] = "B";
dt:Corner Name 2[2] = "C";
dt:Corner Name 2[3] = "D";
dt:Corner Name 2[4] = "E";
dt:Corner Name 2[5] = "A";
// OR
dt << New Column( "Corner Name  3", character, values({"B","C","D","E","A"}) );
Jim

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
txnelson
Super User