cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
john_madden
Level VI

JMP 15 AppleScript Run Program()

I've never used Run Program() before, and I need some help. Since JMP can't open password-protected Excel files, I'm working up a little Applescript to open them and export them as unprotected .csv. I'd like to run this Applescript from within a JSL script. Maybe if it works well, I'll create a little JMP user function to wrap it, so I can simulate in JMP the ability to open password-protected Excel.

BUT…I'm having trouble wrangling Run Program(). A few questions.

1. Should my Applescript be saved as an application (.app extension) or as a script (.scpt extension).

2. My JSL syntax looks like this:

Run Program( Executable( "Users/me/Desktop/myscript.scpt" ) )

but it doesn't work, giving the following error:

launch path not accessible in access or evaluation of 'Glue' , Names Default To Here( 1 ); /*###*/Run Program(
	Executable( "/Users/me/Desktop/re.scpt" )
) /*###*/;

In the following script, error marked by /*###*/
Names Default To Here( 1 ); /*###*/Run Program(
	Executable( "/Users/me/Desktop/re.scpt" )
) /*###*/;

Again, I've tried using .app and .scpt and no extension at all -- no joy.

Obviously, I'm going to have to add in some additional code to get a handle on the resulting .csv export file, but for now, I just need to get off the ground with running a barebones Applescript at all.

Thanks for any help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
julian
Community Manager Community Manager

Re: JMP 15 AppleScript Run Program()

Hi @john_madden,

I would save your script as .app, and then use something like the following to open that application, which uses the 'open' executable to open the .app: