cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
escheenstra
Level I

I am receiving Lost DFs, Biased and Zeroed parameter estimate messages, what do they mean?

First post here as I'm relatively new to JMP.  I've been trying to run an 3 way effects test in the fit model option and am getting errors saying "Lost DFs".  Also parameter estimates gives "biased" and "zeroed" results.  In fit model I'm basically selecting my 3 effects which are year (2013, 2014), type (heirloom or standard) and variety (20 varieties with 4 samples each) and then choosing "full factorial" and then running the standard least squares with effect leverage selected as the emphasis.  The data itself consists of 20 bean varieties with different test results like yield, height, weights, etc.... When I run a 2-way with year*type or year*variety there's no problem but when adding the third effect is when the problems happen...  I guess I'm just wanting to know more about these errors and if there is something else I should be doing that I'm not.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Peter_Bartell
Level VIII

Re: Lost DFs?

Basically I think what is happening when you see the "biased" and "zeroed" results is you are specifying more terms in the model than you have sufficient degrees of freedom to estimate. So JMP gives you these messages...kind of a gentle reminder to insure that the model you are specifying can indeed be estimated by the data you have collected. You may want to check out the "Fitting Linear Models" JMP Help book devoted to this very broad topic.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Peter_Bartell
Level VIII