cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Braydon12
Level II

How to run analysis of 1 binomial data set and 1 nominal data set.

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here as I am very new to JMP pro. I am a novice at stats and could use some guidance. I have a data set where 1 column is tree type (lets say type 1, 2, or 3) and the other column is binomial (1,0) dead or alive. I am trying to get the statistical significance for the difference in average % mortality by tree type. 

Basically I need the hard stats to explain the figure below:

Braydon12_0-1664938539240.png

Any help would be really appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: How to run analysis of 1 binomial data set and 1 nominal data set.

@mzwald helped you with more options. I have a few more, too. You can ask Contingency to compare the group means to the overall mean by clicking the red triangle and selecting Analysis of Means for Proportions.

contingency.PNG

You can even more information to compare one Tree Type with another. from Nominal Logistic Regression platform. Select Analyze > Fit Model. Cast Maturity in the Y role, add Tree Type to the Effects, and cast Count in the Freq role.

nom 1.PNG

Notice that where the same result is presented in both platforms, the value is the same. There is some overlap in content. Let's look at some of the unique information that is available in the second platform.

nom 2.PNG

The Odds Ratios tell you how much more or less likely the outcome will be Dead compared to Alive for different Tree Types. The Confusion Matrix tells us how well the model predicts the outcomes. Finally, the Prediction Profiler allows you to predict the probability of both outcomes for any Tree Type.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
mzwald
Staff