cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ckronig
Level III

How to create an application with a data filter in the launch module?

I'm trying to create an application to produce reports based on user input. I have some experience with writing scripting, but am getting stuck and I haven't used Applications before.

I have tried to modify one of the example Applications that come with JMP, but none of these have a data filter in the launch module and what I have tried to do isn't working.

Does anyone have an example of a simple application with a data filter in the launch module that can be used as a starting point? I should then be able to modify that to do what I need to do...

10 REPLIES 10
Ressel
Level VI

Re: How to create an application with a data filter in the launch module?

Not sure what you mean by "launch module", but here's how I launch a data filter for a specific column in a given table.

Names default to here(1);

// loads the table
dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Cars.jmp" );

// select column
dt << Go To ( :Make );

// identify selection
col = dt << Get Selected Columns( String );

// obtain column reference
col = Column( col[1] );

// launch data filter on selected column
df = dt << Data Filter( Add Filter( Columns( col )));

ckronig
Level III

Hi Ressel,

thanks for the reply. The "launch module" terminology might be specific to building Applications I think.

pauldeen
Level VI

@Ressel to make your life a little easier, this does the same in one step:

Names default to here(1);

// loads the table
dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Cars.jmp" );

// launch data filter on selected column
df = dt << Data Filter( Add Filter( Columns( "Make" )));
Ressel
Level VI

Thanks @pauldeen, I appreciate it. You know, I'm only a level V.