cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
pmroz
Super User

How to configure Python for JMP 14?

I'm very new to Python so this is hopefully an easy question.  I have Python version 3.6 and 3.7 installed.  I installed numpy, matplotlib, scipy and pdfkit in both versions.  However I get errors in the log window when trying to run examples from the scripting index.

For the Python Get example:

Names Default To Here( 1 );
Python Init();
x1 = [1, 2, 3];
Python Send( x1 );
x2 = Python Get( x1 );
Show( x1, x2 );
dt1 = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp" );
Python Send( dt1 );
dt2 = Python Get( dt1 );
dt2 << New Data View;
Close( dt1 );
Python Term();

I get the following errors:

//:*/
Python Init();
x1 = [1, 2, 3];
Python Send( x1 );
x2 = Python Get( x1 );
Show( x1, x2 );
Python Send( dt1 );
dt2 = Python Get( dt1 );
dt2 << New Data View;
Close( dt1 );
Python Term();
/*:

/**********/
# Read a binary file containing doubles into an ndarray
x1 = _JMPnp.fromfile("C:\\Users\\pmroz\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\eacac6a7-dd5e-4ceb-dcbd0248455fb787.csv", dtype=_JMPnp.float64, count=-1, sep="")
/**********/
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 2, in <module>
NameError: name '_JMPnp' is not defined

x1 = [1, 2, 3];
x2 = .;
/**********/
# Import a JMP exported .csv file into a Data Frame
dt1 = _JMPpd.read_csv("C:\\Users\\pmroz\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\8b6475be-aaf0-408b-d1cae4522f253881.csv")
/**********/
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 2, in <module>
NameError: name '_JMPpd' is not defined

Send Expects Scriptable Object in access or evaluation of 'Send' , dt2 <<  /*###*/New Data View/*###*/

In the following script, error marked by /*###*/
Python Init();
x1 = [1, 2, 3];