cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
clott
Level I

How do I conduct a global sensitivity analysis in JMP?

Hello. First post to the forum for me... I am a research ecologist with a wildlife conservation emphasis. Not the typical JMP user, I'm guessing. I have developed and tested a complex individual-based simulation model of bird population dynamics. I am currently at the point in model analysis, where a global, variance-based sensitivity analysis would be appropriate. I am wondering if JMP has the tools to complete such an analysis.

While I have used JMP for years for basic statistical analyses and graphical exploration of data, I am new to using the different profiler tools and the Design of Experiments platform. It appears to me that these tools were developed to meet needs in very different disciplines (e.g., Six Sigma, clinical trails in medicine). Consequently, some of the terminology is quite foreign to me compared to standards from my field (see attached paper by Cariboni et al. (2007). In ecological modeling, sensitivity analysis is often described as the process of systematically varying parameter values across a model's parameter space to understanding the degree to which different parameters affect key model outcomes and identify parameters that are most influential.

I can clearly see elements of this type of analysis in the profilers and DOE platforms, but I haven't been able to figure out which platform/tools I might use for the type of sensitivity analysis typically applied in ecological modeling (see additional attachments). Specifically, how might I obtain the type of parameter sensitivity outputs that are typical of sensitivity analyses?