cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

How can I calculate area under the curve in jmp pro?

Hello!

In a recent study, I collected blood samples at baseline (fasted) and four timepoints following consumption of one of two types of fiber (each subject received both types of fiber, but on separate days).  I analyzed the blood samples to determine the concentrations of various compounds at each time point.  I would like to calculate the area under the curve for each compound following both types of fiber, for each subject.  Is there an easy way to do this in jmp pro?  I am a novice and not experienced with using code...

Any advice would be very much appreciated- thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
dale_lehman
Level VII

Re: How can I calculate area under the curve in jmp pro?

Please provide more details.  Are you wanting to calculate the AUC for an ROC curve?  It doesn't sound like that since your dependent variable appears to be continuous.  If it is indeed continuous, then you need to explain what you mean by the "area under the curve," specifically what curve are you referring to?  If you really mean the AUC, then JMP Pro provides this automatically for a number of platforms, but your dependent variable should be a nominal (categorical) variable.  From your description, it is not clear to me what you would be analyzing as a nominal dependent variable.

Thanks for the valuable insight. I ended up using Prism instead of JMP and managed to get the AUC, so I diverted having to learn how to do this in JMP.  Sometimes it's easier to just use what you're used to!