cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ClusterFerret68
Level III

Help with formula: Calculating change relative to an initial timepoints for multiple samples

Hello All,

I am somewhat new to making conditional formulas in JMP and am having some difficulty with this one.  

I will be collecting data at specific timepoints for multiple different samples.  Each sample has a corresponding value for the initial (T=0) timepoint and I would like to have a column for the %difference at a given timepoint relative to T=0.  The table will include multiple replicates of each sample (arranged in rows) and a dozen or so metrics (in columns).  Here's the general idea of the table format:

ClusterFerret68_0-1686188865744.png

I've tried to set the math to Match based on the Sample Designation column but am having difficulty with the conditional syntax for pointing a given row to its respective T=0 datum.  I found the following searching for similar issues but was unable to modify the script to match my layout:

https://community.jmp.com/t5/Discussions/Divide-column-by-reference-point-with-conditions/m-p/432899...

Granted: I am less-than-a-novice with scripts...

I've included the jmp table as well.

Thanks in advance for your help. 

Chris

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jthi
Super User

Re: Help with formula: Calculating change relative to an initial timepoints for multiple samples

I like using Col-functions to get the needed row number. In this case it seems like the Time Point = 0 is always before the later time points, so simple Col Min should be enough

:Data/:Data[Col Min(Row(), :Sample Designation)] - 1;

This part

Col Min(Row(), :Sample Designation)

is used to get the smallest row number of each Sample Designation and because data is sorted it will get Time Point = 0.

-Jarmo

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
ClusterFerret68
Level III