cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Ressel
Level VI

Get unique column values & use them for filtering / cleaning up in a different table

Hi, what would be the approach for using, for example, the keys in an array for selecting or filtering rows with the same keys, but in a different JMP table. I have two tables. One of them maps sample IDs for chemical testing to different factor settings (temperature, time, study nr., etc.). I am successfully getting the sample IDs in an array. (Sorry, I'm a total newbie to this.)

smplID = Associative array(:sampleid) << Get Keys;

Now I want to use these keys to select rows in the second table (where my responses are), invert the row selection and delete the rows. This reference was, so far, getting me nowhere. Perhaps the solution below, as described here, is better suited to start with?

Summarize(dt, smpleID = by(:sampleid));

Or maybe this approach is preferable?

dt << Summary (Group ( :sampleid ), Frequ( "None" ), Weight( "None" );

Anyway, what I really want to know is, how I may use any of these approaches to effectively cleanse a data table for rows I don't need, before I proceed any further with data analysis. I guess I need to learn how to loop.

Yes, I am trying to read through the Scripting Guide whenever possible. I am just not able to prioritize it.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jthi
Super User

Re: Get unique column values & use them for filtering / cleaning up in a different table

To get unique values, all those are valid methods and their speeds will depend on the amount of data you have. One think to notice, is that if you want to take unique Numeric values and you use Summarize, you will have to convert them back to numeric (Summarize returns them as strings).

Some different ways to get unique values:

Names Default To Here(1);
dt = Open("$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp");

aa_uniq = Associative Array(dt:age) << get keys;