cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
strecher1
Level II

Examining an interaction (moderation effect) using JMP SEM

I'm new to SEM. Is there a way to examine an interaction (moderation effect) using JMP's SEM program?

2 REPLIES 2
LauraCS
Staff

Re: Examining an interaction (moderation effect) using JMP SEM

Hi @strecher1,

Moderation in SEM is done in one of 2 ways:

1. Similar to standard regression, one includes an interaction term into the model as a predictor, in addition to the two main effects. If you’ve done this *outside* of JMP, you probably had to create the multiplicative/interaction term manually – JMP is very cool so in Fit Model (and other platforms) it saves you the time of doing that with the “Cross” button –it further centers the terms to create the interaction! However, in SEM, I haven’t (yet) added that time-saving feature (but be on the lookout for the future!). Thus, the easiest way is creating a new formula column (select columns and right-click): 

JMP_Product_Column.jpg

Note that if you want the interaction to be created with mean-centered terms (which is usually desired to avoid multicollinearity), you should first select New Formula Column > Distributional > Center, and then create the product variable with the centered terms.