Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Display of drop-down menus on an external monitor

dqr2

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 19, 2015

Hi - whenever I connect my laptop to a wall-based monitor in my organisation's conference rooms, all drop-down menus and tool tips that are built into a JMP application that I've written fail to be reproduced on the external monitor, which makes delivering a demo difficult. Can this be rectified by changing a setting within JMP?  I'm running JMP Pro 13.0.0.

 

Many thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
billw_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jul 2, 2014

Solution

I believe this is a monitor setting issue as opposed to a JMP issue - especially if you are connecting wirelessly.  I have run into this before, but don't remember the exact sequence of clicks.  I do remember that there was icon associated with the connection in the lower right menu bar panel and that by clicking that there was a setting the needed to be toggled that allowed the dropdown menus and other hover help items display on the monitor.

 

HTH

Bill

6 REPLIES
billw_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jul 2, 2014

Solution

I believe this is a monitor setting issue as opposed to a JMP issue - especially if you are connecting wirelessly.  I have run into this before, but don't remember the exact sequence of clicks.  I do remember that there was icon associated with the connection in the lower right menu bar panel and that by clicking that there was a setting the needed to be toggled that allowed the dropdown menus and other hover help items display on the monitor.

 

HTH

Bill

Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

I've occasionally seen similar behavior but only if JMP was running when I connected the display. In that case, quitting JMP and restarting it resolved the issue. Is that your experience as well?

 

 

-Jeff
dqr2

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 19, 2015

Hi Jeff - unfortunately no: starting up JMP after connecting the monitor doesn't resolve the issue, and the enabling/disabling of hardware accelerated graphics doesn't seem to do it either.  I'll try to get it fixed by fiddling with the controls on the external monitor, but failing that I'll just apologise to the audience :)

 

Many thanks,

David

dqr2

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 19, 2015

Thanks Bill - that rings true: it is indeed a wireless connection.  I'll try to leave enough time to have a play with the controls prior to the next presentation.

 

Many thanks.

Craige_Hales

Staff

Joined:

Mar 21, 2013

Try turning off JMP's preference for hardware acceleration. 

JMP on Windows has a hardware acceleration preferenceJMP on Windows has a hardware acceleration preference

Craige
kardopaska

Community Trekker

Joined:

Feb 24, 2016

um what? i'm on Win10 both JNK 11 and 12 don't have the option you have?um what? i'm on Win10 both JNK 11 and 12 don't have the option you have?

I'm having MAJOR scroll lag when click draggin the scroll bar to the top or bottom of a 1000-line data table... I didn' thave this problem on Win 7?


Craige_Hales wrote:

Try turning off JMP's preference for hardware acceleration. 

JMP on Windows has a hardware acceleration preferenceJMP on Windows has a hardware acceleration preference