Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Ekokase
Level II

Design of experiments

Hi everyone, 

first of all, excuse my english because I am not a native english speaker. I am a beginner in the field of design of experimens and this is why I am looking for insights. My problem is the folowing: 

1. I need to optimize the concentration of 7 proteins contained in the cell culture medium we use

2. We know that all these 7 proteins have an significant effect on the response ( yield)

3. We don't know if there is any interaction between the proteins 

4. We know that the effect of some proteins is not linear to the concentration: this means that higher concentration than usual can have a negative impact on the yield ( possible quadratic effect ) 

5.  We also know that the cells used as starting material for cell culture have a big impact  on the yield, but since we can't control that factor, we are thinking about using it as a blocking factor. 

My questions are the following : 

- How do we start ? do we evaluate the blocking factor in the first plan  we make ? 

- Do we need to use three level per factor ( concentration of protein) or two to reduce the number of assay ( but we could miss quadratic effect) 

Thank you in advance. 

11 REPLIES 11
Phil_Kay
Staff

Re: Design of experiments

Hi @Ekokase,

We probably can't cover all the things that you should think about before designing and executing your experiment. But I am happy to provide some ideas.

Some important questions:

How many assays are you able to run? 

How many cell starting material batches do you have?

How many assays can you run from each batch of cell starting material?

A Definitive Screening Design might be a good starting point. This would provide a relatively small experiment (e.g. the default design from JMP for 7 factors with 3 blocks and 3 centre points is 23 runs).