cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ajoneja
Level II

Defining Factor Constraints in Custom Design DOE

Hi community,

JMP novice here, apologies if I'm missing something very obvious.

I'm trying to set up a DOE for a chemical reaction that has 5 components, just call them A, B, C, D, and E. For their quantity, I am expressing each one as a fraction of the whole, or the percent of the total volume that the component takes up. So I would like to include a Linear Constraint so their sum does not exceed 100%, I am using:

1A + 1B + 1C + 1D + 1E <= 100

Then the second thing I'd like to do is to make some of these mutually exclusive. For example I only want A OR B, and C OR D, I never want them both present at the same time. So I am trying to add a Disallowed Combination Filter to achieve this. I just add A and B and move the slider so that it is not allowed for A and B to both have non-zero values. Then do the same for C and D.

I feel like I am able to set up each one individually but the program only pays attention to the one that has the radio button highlighted...is it not allowed to have both types of constraints? Or is there a better way to do this? Thanks in advance for any help. Any guidance in the GUI or scripting example would be great.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Defining Factor Constraints in Custom Design DOE

Hi,

Thank you for this great question!  It is possible to define factors in custom design as "mixture" components.  JMP sees the mixture components and allows them to vary within the low and high levels, but ensure the total always sums to 1 (you can change this value if you like, but the default is 1).