cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
75Innovation
Level I

DOE for Marketing Campaign (vs A/B Testing)

Hello JMP Community,

I am a data analyst and trying to use JMP DOE capability to support marketing partners with a marketing campaign. Campaign details are below, and my questions are:

Questions: 

1. Based on the campaign details, is my understanding of DOE wrong? I am hoping to go beyond simply basic A/B testing and maybe for a campaign like this A/B testing is the way to go while DOE is for more complex situations.
  2. If DOE can be applied to this real-life business problem, how should I go about successfully implementing this? I would appreciate it if there are more details as I am new to JMP DOE capability while trying to learn it quickly too.

Campaign Details: (All this is nicely represented in the attachment "test Plan".)

1. A marketing campaign to incentivize non-loyalty members to join the loyalty program.
  2. An email will be sent to almost 2 million customers. The content of the email is educational with a $ coupon.
  3. The test is to see which email creative does better. A long version or a short version of the creative. In the short version, there is an additional layer of test, the CTA. 
  4. I also decided to have a 10% hold-out group to see the overall impact of the campaign.

The success of the campaign will be decided by:

1. Maximum members join the loyalty program (using hold-out group)
  2. Which creative version did better? Then use that creative in future communications
  3. Which CTA did better? Then use the CTA in future communications.

Thanks a lot for your help and direction. 

1 REPLY 1
statman
Super User

Re: DOE for Marketing Campaign (vs A/B Testing)